

## **NEWS RELEASE**

Contact: L. Lynn Rex, Executive Director

Phone: 402-476-2829 Date: Sept. 22, 2017

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

## League of Nebraska Municipalities announces Executive Board membership; Sidney Council Member elected President

Sidney Council Member Wendall Gaston will serve as president of the 2017-18 Executive Board of the League of Nebraska Municipalities. The election was held at the League's annual business meeting in Lincoln in conjunction with the League's 2017 Annual Conference.

North Platte Mayor Dwight Livingston will serve as president-elect of the organization's board; Plattsmouth Mayor Paul Lambert, will serve as Vice President, and Exeter Board Chair Alan Michl will remain a member of the board as past president.

Directors elected to the board are the following: Jean Stothert, Mayor of Omaha; Chris Beutler, Mayor of Lincoln; Gerald Solko, Council Member of St. Paul; Tony Kaufman, Mayor of Gering; Sandra Foote, Council Member of Superior; John Lohr, Council Member of Columbus; Deb VanMatre, Mayor of Gibbon; and John Wyant, Mayor of Newman Grove.

Representatives on the board are the following: Rod Storm, City Administrator of Blair; Nancy Bryan, Clerk/Treasurer of Stromsburg; and, Tobias Tempelmeyer, City Administrator and Board of Public Works General Manager of Beatrice.

The 15-member Executive Board is the governing body of the League of Nebraska Municipalities. The group formulates the League's policy and philosophy. Each year, the board approves a budget, which determines how much revenue is necessary and available and where it will be allocated. Board members also set policy concerning League programs and legislation.

The League of Nebraska Municipalities is a nonprofit organization of cities and villages that was established in the late 1800s to represent municipalities in the Legislature. The League's functions include sponsoring educational seminars, publishing a magazine and newsletters, representing its member cities and villages on state advisory boards and answering technical questions. The top priority is representing its members in the legislative process.