d

Nebraska City/County Management Association (NCMA)

President

Joe Johnson

City Administrator

1409 Central Avenue

Nebraska City, NE 68410-2223

Phone (402) 873-5515

FAX (402) 873-5685

jjohnson@nebraskacity.com

 

President Elect

J.D. Cox

City Manager

PO Box D

Alliance, NE 69301-0770

Phone (308) 762-5400

FAX (308) 762-7848

jdcox@cityofalliance.net

 

Vice President

Shane Weidner

City Administrator

309 N 5th Street

Norfolk, NE 68701-4092

Phone (402) 844-2000

FAX (402) 844-2001

sweidner@ci.norfolk.ne.us

 

Secretary/Treasurer

Brent Clark

Administrator/Clerk/Treasurer

PO Box 482

Dakota City, NE 68731-0482

Phone (402) 987-3448

FAX (402) 987-3313

brentclark@dakotacity.net

 

Past President

Joe Mangiamelli

City Administrator

PO Box 1677

Columbus, NE 68602-1677

Phone (402) 562-4232

FAX (402) 563-1380

jmangi@columbusne.us

 

Municipal Accounting & Finance Committee

Chairperson

Lanette Doane

Clerk/Treasurer

PO Box 307

Ansley, NE 68814-0307

Phone (308) 935-1467

FAX (308) 935-9105

villageofansley@nctc.net

 

Vice Chairperson

Barb Hodges

Treasurer

PO Box 70

Lexington, NE 68850-0070

Phone (308) 324-2341

FAX (308) 324-4590

bhodges@cityoflex.com

 

Past Chairperson

John Mejia

Finance Director/Treasurer

PO Box 678

Gering, NE 69341-2829

Phone (308) 436-5096

FAX (308) 436-6899

jmejia@gering.org

 

Committee Members

Kelly Oelke

Clerk/Finance Director

PO Box 127

Hickman, NE 68372-0127

Phone (402) 792-2212

FAX (402) 792-2210

koelke@hickman.ne.gov

 

Geralyn Konruff

Treasurer

PO Box 487

Chappell, NE 69129-0487

Phone (308) 874-2401

FAX (308) 874-2508

geralyncityhall@embarqmail.com

 

Susan Tonniges

Finance Officer

PO Box 276

York, NE 68467-0276

Phone (402) 363-2600

FAX (402) 363-2601

stonniges@cityofyork.net

 

Nebraska Municipal Clerks Association (NMCA)

President

Kellie Crowell

Clerk/Treasurer

PO Box 108

Ravenna, NE 68869-0108

Phone (308) 452-3273

kcrowell@ravennanebraska.net

 

1st Vice President

Lea Ann Doak

Clerk

PO Box 1059

McCook, NE 69001-1059

Phone (308) 345-2022

ldoak@cityofmccook.com

 

2nd Vice President

RaNae Edwards

Clerk

PO Box 1968

Grand Island, NE 68802-1968

Phone (308) 385-5444

redwards@grand-island.com

 

Secretary/Treasurer

Linda Jensen

Clerk/Treasurer

PO Box 418

Central City, NE 68826-0418

Phone (308) 946-3806

centralcityclerk@hotmail.com

 

Past President

Susan Kloepping

Clerk/Treasurer

PO Box 309

Cozad, NE 69130-0309

Phone (308) 784-3907

cozadcty@cozadtel.net

 

Fire Chiefs Section

President

Bill Bowes

Fire Chief

Papillion Fire Department

146 North Adams Street

Papillion, NE 68046

(402) 657-3763

(402) 339-8617

bbowes@papillion.org

 

Vice President

Pat Borer

Asst. Fire Chief

Lincoln Fire Department

1801 Q Street

Lincoln, NE 68508

(402) 441-8351

(402) 429-2930

pborer@lincoln.ne.gov

 

Secretary/Treasurer

Scott Cordes

Fire Chief

Norfolk Fire Department

701 Koenigstein Ave

Norfolk, NE 68701

(402) 844-2050

(402) 644-7901

scordes@ci.norfolk.ne.us

Legislative News

Items of Interest to Municipalities

A historic session that included repealing the death penalty, increasing the gas tax for infrastructure projects and passing a bill to allow young immigrants to obtain driver’s licenses ended a day early when lawmakers adjourned sine die May 29.

During the interim, or the months between regular legislative sessions, lawmakers will, among many things, consider interim study resolutions or proposals for the study of issues after the Legislature adjourns its regular session. Interim study hearings usually are held in late summer or early fall and a weekly notice of these hearings, which is available online at www.nebraskalegislature.gov, is produced by the Clerk of the Legislature’s office.

The 2015 Interim Study Resolutions will cover several issues of interest to municipal officials, including: the Local Option Municipal Economic Development Act; economic development tools for municipalities; pensions provided for firefighters from cities of the first class; use of body cameras for state and local law enforcement; tax increment financing; the statutory relationship between cities of the second class and villages and the public libraries within their jurisdictions; and, a comprehensive study of Nebraska’s state and local roads system.

The 2016 Legislature begins Jan. 6 and will be the second session of the 104th Legislature. This will be a 60-day session, which means it will probably end in April.