Below are links to various news articles and / or video the League feels might be of interest to you and your community. Clicking the link will take you to the website of that particular news organization.

Low state electricity requirements means higher efficiency, North Platte Telegraph, Aug. 30, 2016

Ordinance seems to have eased panhandlers’ pushiness, not numbers, Omaha World-Herald, Aug. 30, 2016

Scottsbluff Public Library gears up for annual Fall Kitchen Tour Event fundraiser, Scottsbluff Star-Herald, Aug. 27, 2016

Ball park fund is added to this year’s city budget, York News-Times, Aug. 30, 2016

Improvements planned for community center, parks, pool, York News-Times, Aug. 26, 2016

City’s new comprehensive plan starting to take shape, Norfolk Daily News, Aug. 25, 2016

Introducing Grand Island’s new police canine, Grand Island Independent, Aug. 25, 2016

Grand Island City Council approves second hospital project, Kearney Hub, Aug. 24, 2016

Brewing ideas for growth in Valentine, North Platte Telegraph, Aug. 23, 2016

Scotts Bluff National Monument celebrating 100 years this week, Scottsbluff Star-Herald, Aug. 23, 2016





















































































Legislative News

Items of Interest to Municipalities

City and state leaders call for proactive approach to emerald ash borer

Lincoln Sen. Patty Pansing Brooks, Lincoln Mayor Chris Beutler, Plattsmouth Mayor Paul Lambert and Dr. Scott Josiah of the Nebraska Forest Service called for cities and the state to be proactive in dealing with the emerald ash borer (EAB), which is projected to cause more than $960 million in damage statewide. Costs can be contained by taking action now. Lincoln Southeast High School Students in the background spent time wrapping ribbons around the ash trees to show the impact of EAB when it strikes.

The League of Nebraska Municipalities is a nonprofit organization of cities and villages that was established in the late 1800s to represent municipalities in the Legislature. The League’s functions include sponsoring educational seminars, publishing a magazine and newsletters, representing its member cities and villages on state advisory boards and answering technical questions. The top priority is representing its members in the legislative process.







Upcoming Events

Wed Aug 31 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Rubber Gloving Workshop - Sidney
Thu Sep 01 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
Rubber Gloving Workshop - Sidney
Wed Sep 07 @ 8:00AM - 05:00AM
Electric Distribution Underground School - Sidney
Thu Sep 08 @ 8:00AM - 12:00PM
Electric Distribution Underground School - Sidney
Tue Sep 13 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Backflow Workshop - Wayne
Wed Sep 14 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Backflow Workshop - Beatrice
Wed Sep 21 @ 8:00AM - 12:01PM
Annual Conference - Kearney
Thu Sep 22 @ 8:00AM - 12:01PM
Annual Conference - Kearney
Fri Sep 23 @ 8:00AM - 12:01PM
Annual Conference - Kearney
Sun Sep 25 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
ICMA Annual Conference - Kansas City
Mon Sep 26 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
ICMA Annual Conference - Kansas City
Tue Sep 27 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
ICMA Annual Conference - Kansas City
Wed Sep 28 @ 8:00AM - 05:00PM
ICMA Annual Conference - Kansas City
Tue Oct 04 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Water Operator Workshop - Albion
Wed Oct 05 @ 8:30AM - 03:30PM
Water Operator Workshop - Aurora