Randy Woldt

Utility Superintendent
Wisner, NE

1st Vice President

Kyle Potthoff

Public Works Director
McCook, NE

2nd Vice President

Jim McGowen

Utility Superintendent
Schuyler, NE

Past President

Denise Peterson

Administrator / Clerk / Treasurer
Ponca, NE

Board Members

Dennis Smith

Public Works Director
Norfolk, NE

Anton "Tony" Jelinek

Assistant Director of Utilities
Kearney, NE

Paul Markowski

Utility Superintendent
Ord, NE

Legislative News

Items of Interest to Municipalities

In the final moments of the 2014 legislative session on April 17, lawmakers said goodbye to 17 lawmakers who will not be returning next year because of term limits. Sen. Greg Adams, Speaker of the Legislature, is among the Senators leaving the Legislature. He praised his colleagues for their work on major issues, including prison reform and water policy. 
At the end of a short legislative session such as this one, all bills stranded at various stages of consideration die with the end of session. During the interim, or the months between regular legislative sessions, lawmakers will, among many things, consider interim study resolutions or proposals for the study of issues after the Legislature adjourns its regular session. These proposals are sent to the Legislature’s Executive Board, which refers them to the appropriate committees for consideration before next session. Committees then prioritize the resolutions referred to them. Limited time and staff usually preclude work on every resolution. Hearings on interim study resolutions typically are held in late summer or early fall and a weekly notice of those hearings is posted on the Legislature’s website at http://nebraskalegislature.gov/. A list of Interim study resolutions is available on the Legislature’s website at http://nebraskalegislature.gov/session/interim.php.
The 2015 Legislature, which will be the 104th Legislature, is scheduled to convene Jan. 7. It will be a long, or 90-day, session.